[928uk] For those selling their 928, be aware of scams !

Frank Al-mukhtar feras_mukhtar at btopenworld.com
Thu May 20 11:09:29 BST 2004


Hi All

I keep getting some guy offering me the same deal with my 928 (Read Below)
which is why I've taken it off the site for now. He is assuming that the
cheque is on it's way.
I'm telling him otherwise, but he's being annoying.

Any suggestions guys!

Frank '84 S2 auto


----- Original Message -----
From: <charles.vanasma at tesco.net>
To: "Diederik de Vilder" <ddevilder at datamonitor.com>; <928uk at 928.org.uk>
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 2:18 PM
Subject: Re: [928uk] For those selling their 928, be aware of scams !


> Diederik
>
> My Brother is selling his 1967 merc SL250, and had the identical scam
tried on him, as i am, lets say very well
> connected to Scotland Yard, i warned him about the current scams, his car
was listed on the web at £38,000, the guy emailed him, his agent would
collect the car once the bank
> transfer had taken place, and he lived in Korea, did not want to view the
car,after three weeks a cheque arrived at the bank for £85,000, drawn on
Islington Borough council Cheque, paying on behalf of the guy in Korea, Well
the cheque was never put through the banking system, and the Fraud Squad are
hot on his heels at present. The scam being
> " Send you to much money in error< please return the difference" The point
being only accept cash or cleared funds into your account.
>
> Charles S2 86
>
>
> >
> > From: "Diederik de Vilder" <ddevilder at datamonitor.com>
> > Date: 2004/05/19 Wed AM 11:40:45 GMT
> > To: <928uk at 928.org.uk>
> > Subject: [928uk] For those selling their 928, be aware of scams !
> >
> > As some of you know, I am selling my 928S Moss Green, and it is
advertised on a few websites. I got an email the other day from a gentlemen
asking whether I accept cheque as payment. I replied that I accept cheque
but that the car can only be collected upon clearance of the funds. He then
asked me for what kind of price I was willing to settle, and he asked my
home adress. He did not seem to be interested in viewing the car. I started
getting suspicious. This morning, I got an email insisting that he needed my
address, which I wasn't willing to give as yet, and explaining that his
agent in the UK would come and collect the car. He said that I basically
would get paid by one of his UK clients that still owe him money.The alarm
bells really started ringing !
> >
> > I did a quick google search on his email domain name called Fastermail.
It immediately returned scam warnings ! The website below is a list of
people with similar experiences.
> > http://www.classicsandcustoms.com/discussion/detail.asp?Postid=2029
> >
> > I guess cash deals are best after all....
> >
> > Diederik De Vilder
> >
> >
> > This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and
intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are
addressed. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible
for delivering to the intended recipient, please be advised that it has been
sent in error and therefore any use is strictly prohibited.
> > If you are not the intended recipient, or if you are concerned about the
content of this email, please notify our IT helpdesk on +44 20 7675 7000.
> > ___________________________________________________________________
> > This message has been checked for all known viruses through the
MessageLabs Virus Control Center.
> >
>


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----


> _______________________________________________
> 928uk mailing list
> 928uk at 928.org.uk
> http://www.928.org.uk/mailman/listinfo/928uk
> 928.org.uk
>


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----


> _______________________________________________
> 928uk mailing list
> 928uk at 928.org.uk
> http://www.928.org.uk/mailman/listinfo/928uk
> 928.org.uk





More information about the 928uk mailing list